Weekly Wonder #4- Audioboo

Every so often I come across a technology that will have huge impacts on my practise, such as Stixy, blogging and Twitter, and Audioboo is certainly shaping up to be one of those.

Basically, Audioboo allows you to record 3 minutes of audio, online or via the app. This is stored online, can be shared via Twitter or email, or as a RSS feed.

Voice recording tools have been around a while but this is the first time that I have seriously thought about providing feedback in this way,(obviously other than during lessons with students). We all want a tool, strategy or technique that will speed up our marking and provide better feedback for students. The former was possibly my starting point! A lot of student work that I assess comes in different formats, e.g. Paper based, websites, animations and multimedia products or a combination of all. Therefore, recording audio would allow me to flick between the evidence easier.

My first experiences have been interesting. Once you get over the sound of your own voice and stop squirming, you realise that it is so easy, more feedback is provided, questions can be asked, examples given and misconceptions explained. I guess on average I would provide up to 100 words in written feedback. I have counted yet, but I am sure that there are more in 120-180 secs worth of audio feedback.

When marking coursework, we usually provide a checklist of sorts. We encourage students to contnually peer and self assess their work. However, sometimes when a teacher marks their work they are only concerned about the outcome. Therefore, my strategy is simple for providing audio feedback. I provide students with the comments via Audioboo, which is tweeted and on our blog, they listen to the feedback, idenify where they are and draw up their own action points to help improve their work. By listening “carefully” to the feedback they will hopefully become more informed and aware of the mark criteria.

I will presenting this idea to colleagues on Friday in a lunchtime TeachMeet at St John’s, I look forward to their thoughts as I do yours…


The student’s summary of this was as follows:

  • Serparate hypothesis into 2.
  • Incorporate age group.
  • List of affects on Drink Aware website.
  • Add Data Protection Act.


The student’s summary of this was as follows:

  • Improve hypothesis, what they use the internet for, boys/girls etc.
  • Provide success criteria.
  • Provide evidence of how data will be processed.

Lauren has given me some feedback about how she is finding the tool

“I feel that it is a good factor as I have constant access to it and can repeatedly listen to it when unsure how to improve my work, also it’s in more detail that would normally be on the mark sheet”

About St John's ICT

ICT Subject Learning Co-ordinator, responsible for whole school ICT, inteerested in Web 2.0 tools, using iPads and mobile devices, BYOD and connecting students and schools through ICT to enhance Teaching and Learning.
This entry was posted in e-learning, Podcasting, Weekly Wonder and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

